There are few places where you can stand in the middle of a room and almost everything you see is made or decorated by Tiffany: glass, paint, finishes, etc. St. Mark’s Evangelical Lutheran Church on St. Paul Street, with its entire interior designed by the Tiffany Company of New York, is one of them. Please join our host, Reverend Dale Dusman, for a tour and a bit of Tiffany overload at this hidden Baltimore gem and us.
St. Mark’s Evangelical Lutheran Church | 1900 St. Paul Street, Baltimore MD 21218 (corner of St. Paul St. & North Ave.)
Saturday, January 28, 2012 | 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.
$10 for members | $20 for non-members RSVP for the tour today!
In the 1890’s, the St. Mark’s congregation engaged architect Joseph Evans Sperry (who would later go on to design Baltimore’s Bromo Seltzer Tower, among other buildings) to help them build a new church. Sperry came up with a Romanesque design that is known for its heavy stones, arched doors and windows, and short columns. Romanesque design comes from central and western Europe, where many of St. Mark’s congregants also traced their lineages. (An Estonian congregation called EELK Baltimore Markuse Kogudus continues to use St. Mark’s for worship each month.) In 1898 the church was completed, and since then has been one of Baltimore’s outstanding examples of Romanesque architecture. On the inside, St. Mark’s engaged the Tiffany Glass Decorating Company, under the direction of artist Rene de Quelen (Tiffany’s head artist), to come up with a plan that was equally fitting to the grand architecture. De Quelen used a Byzantine approach, with deep colors, lots of jewels, and many mosaics. Louis Comfort Tiffany, son of Tiffany’s founder and then head of the company, had studied art in Paris and had spent time in Spain and North Africa where he learned about this approach to decorating. The interior boasts Tiffany windows and Rubio marble inlaid with mother of pearl for the altar, pulpit, and lectern. Our host for the tour is Reverend Dale Dusman of St. Mark’s. Although Reverend Dusman’s calling is the church, he has steeped himself in the history of St. Mark’s and its architecture. Please join us on this All-Things-Tiffany tour. We are sure you will never drive or walk past the 1900 block of St. Paul Street the same way again.
Back by popular demand, we are again offering a tour of one of Baltimore’s most special places: Mr. Durward Center’s “Clock House.” With a lifetime of training and devotion, Mr. Center has blended the best of a Victorian Baltimore rowhouse with ticking, whirring monuments to historical clocks and mechanical musical machines. He even has a clock on the front that is shaped like a dragon holding a bell in its mouth, which strikes the hours with its tail. If you missed this tour in 2009, please join us this time and be prepared to be charmed.
December 7 or December 8 (choose one only please)
5:30 to 6:00 pm wine and cheese reception, 6:00 to 7:00 p.m. tour
2100 St. Paul Street, 21218
$15 for Baltimore Heritage Members and $25 for non members (please join today!) We are holding two identical tours on separate dates in order to accommodate as many people as possible. Please choose only one date. The tours are the same. Each tour is limited to 25 people.
Known widely throughout Baltimore as “The Clock House,” Mr. Durward Center’s 2100 St. Paul Street Victorian home is a Mecca for lovers of early mechanical devices. By profession, Mr. Center is a restoration expert for antique tower-clocks and organs. He has worked on projects across the country, and as close to home as Penn Station in Baltimore. He is also the craftsman behind the restoration of the 1898 Welte “concert orchestration” that sat in the entrance to Oakley Court, the manor house outside of London which was made famous in Dracula movies (and perhaps infamous in The Rocky Horror Picture Show) For his St. Paul Street house, Mr. Center has installed three clock dials on the outside, including the dragon clock, and has an almost endless collection inside. A music room contains early mechanical musical devices which he has restored. One notable item is an antique organ with a custom-made wooden case by Baltimore woodwright Thomas Brown, whose shop was a stop on a previous Baltimore Behind the Scenes tour. Please join us and our host, Mr. Durward Center, as we learn (and literally hear) about the fascinating marriage between a historic Baltimore rowhouse and a world-class collection of early mechanical devices.
In 1784 during the “Christmas Conference” at the Lovely Lane Meeting House in Baltimore, American Methodist was born. Surprisingly, this predated the organization of the Methodist community in England where it originated. Please join us on a tour of Baltimore’s signature Methodist building today, the Lovely Lane United Methodist Church, known as the Mother Church of American Methodism and an architectural treasure to boot.
Date: Tuesday, November 23, 2010
Time: 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Place: Lovely Lane United Methodist Church (2200 St. Paul St., Baltimore 21218)
Cost: $10 for members / $20 for non-members (please join!)