Tag: cemeteries

Image of white stone grave markers lying on the ground with overlaid text reading: "Volunteer with the Friends of St. Vincent's Cemetery"

Friends of St. Vincent Cemetery: Spring 2019 Clean-up

The Friends of St. Vincent Cemetery will hold their Spring 2019 Clean Up Event on Saturday, April 27, 2019 from 9:00 am until 1:00 pm.

Help is needed to pull weeds and gather debris. Please wear appropriate work clothes and shoes. Bottled water and light snacks will be provided.

For more information or to sign-up to participate, contact Stephanie Town at 610-368-1910 or rakeleafs@yahoo.com.

Rediscovery of Serenity Farm African American Burial Site

Our speaker, Dr. Lisa Kraus, will speak on the Serenity Farm African American Burial Site in Charles County Maryland, which was discovered by archaeologists from the Maryland State Highway Administration in 2011. Come and hear the story of how a lost cemetery was rediscovered and reestablished so that the descendants may now visit the graves of their ancestors.

The business meeting of the Archaeological Society of Maryland starts at 7:00 p.m. and the talk begins at 7:30 p.m.

Image of white stone grave markers lying on the ground with overlaid text reading: "Volunteer with the Friends of St. Vincent's Cemetery"

St. Vincent’s Cemetery Fall 2015 Clean-Up Day in Clifton Park

Join the Friends of St. Vincent Cemetery on Saturday, October 3, 2015 for their Fall 2015 Clean-up Day. Abandoned and almost totally forgotten, this Catholic cemetery in the heart of Clifton Park contains the remains of 3,638 people. Over the past several years, the Friends have been working tirelessly to remove a jungle of weeds, salvage grave markers, and help families identify members buried there.

Wear work clothes and sturdy shoes to join the effort pulling weeds and cleaning debris from this wonderful place that is slowly but surely being brought back to its rightful dignity.

For more information, contact Ms. Stephanie Town at rakeleafs@yahoo.com or 610-368-1910.

Immanuel Lutheran Cemetery Open House & Guided Tour

Join the Immanuel Lutheran Church for a special open house with tours and presentations to honor of the 150th anniversary of the founding of their congregation. Visit the restored Chapel,  take a leisurely walk around the well-kept grounds, or explore family history with burial records.

Visitors can join the 45-minute guided tour at 3:30pm or take a self-guided tour of the cemetery anytime from 11:00am to 7:00pm. Pastor Minetree will lead a “Service of Remembrance” at 4:30pm. Visitors can also explore more local history with a self-guided online walking tour from the Lauraville Heritage Project.

In 1874, a tract of land was purchased on Grindon Avenue and dedicated as the Immanuel Lutheran Church Cemetery, serving the mostly German congregation. At that time, the Lauraville area was a sparsely populated community of farming families. The cemetery is the final resting place for well-known Baltimoreans including Johnny Neun, a local Major League baseball player and John J. Thompson, who received the Congressional Medal of Honor for his service during the Civil War. Enjoy the well maintained grounds as Victorian-age angels keep watch over the quiet and peaceful community of past family, friends and neighbors.

The Chapel, built 1882, will be open to the public. The chapel is still used for funerals, the Easter Sunrise service and other events.

Featured photograph of Immanuel Lutheran Cemetery by Monument City, 11 August 2012.