Five Minute Histories

We have a collection of over 150 short videos on different places all over Baltimore! Click on a pin on the map or scroll down to see the entire list.

 


Friday, July 30, 2021: Pompeian Olive Oil 

 

Monday, July 26, 2021: Little Free Libraries of Baltimore

 

Friday, July 23, 2021: Church of the Immaculate Conception

 

Tuesday, July 20, 2021: The Chesapeake Cadillac Company

 

Thursday, July 15, 2021: Sarah Ann Street Alley Houses

 

Tuesday, July 13, 2021: Little Tavern Hamburger Shops

 

Thursday, July 1, 2021: The Ambassador Theater

 

Tuesday, June 29, 2021: Ghost Signs in Baltimore 

 

Friday, June 25, 2021: The Harry O. Wilson House

 

Tuesday, June 22, 2021: The Rogers Mansion at the Zoo

 

Thursday, June 17, 2021: The Raffel Building

 

Friday, June 11, 2021: The Woman’s Industrial Exchange (Our 150th Video!)

 

Tuesday, June 8, 2021: Old Oriole Park

 

Friday, June 4, 2021: The Anne Wiggins Brown House

 

Friday, May 28, 2021: The Lord Baltimore Hotel

 

Tuesday, May 25, 2021: Brown’s Arcade

 

Friday, May 21, 2021: The Baltimore Chamber of Commerce Building

 

Tuesday, May 18, 2021: The Bagby Furniture Company Building

 

Friday, May 14, 2021: The Perkins Square Gazebo

 

Tuesday, May 11, 2021: Pascault Row

 

Friday, May 7, 2021: The Montgomery Ward Building

 

Tuesday, May 4, 2021: The Coca-Cola Bottling Company Building

 

Friday, April 30, 2021: The Odd Fellows Hall

 

Tuesday, April 27, 2021: The American Ice Company Building

 

Friday, April 23, 2021: Eutaw Farm in Herring Run Park

 

Tuesday, April 20, 2021: Ridgely’s Delight

 

Tuesday, April 13, 2021: The Brewers Exchange

 

Friday, April 9, 2021: Masjid Ul Haqq

 

Tuesday, April 6, 2021: Church Home and Hospital

 

Friday, April 2, 2021: Laurel Cemetery

 

Tuesday, March 30, 2021: The S.S. John W. Brown

 

Friday, March 19, 2021: The Natural History Society of Maryland

 

Tuesday, March 16, 2021: Green Mount Cemetery

 

Friday, March 12, 2021: The Bruce Street Arabber Stable

 

Tuesday, March 9, 2021: The Baltimore General Dispensary

 

Friday, March 5, 2021: Zion Lutheran Church

 

Tuesday, March 2, 2021: Evergreen House

 

Friday, February 26, 2021: Formstone

 

Tuesday, February 23, 2021: The American Visionary Art Museum

 

Friday, February 19, 2021: The W.E.B. Du Bois House

 

Friday, February 12, 2021: Lovely Lane United Methodist Church

 

Tuesday, February 9, 2021: Mt. Washington Mill

 

Friday, February 5, 2021: The Origins of Black History Month in Baltimore

 

Tuesday, February 2, 2021: The Curtis Bay Water Tower

 

Friday, January 29, 2021: Duckpin Bowling 

 

 

Tuesday, January 26, 2021: The Reptile House at the Zoo

 

Friday, January 22, 2021: Eastern Female High School

 

Friday, January 15, 2021: Lumbee Heritage in East Baltimore

 

Tuesday, January 12, 2021: The Belfort Instrument Company

 

Friday, January 8, 2021: An Epidemic, a Mob, and a Threat to Democracy, Mayor Johnson in Early Baltimore

 

Tuesday, January 5, 2021: One Charles Center

 

Tuesday, December 29, 2020: The Marble Bar at the Congress Hotel

 

Tuesday, December 22, 2020: Baltimore’s Holiday Train Gardens

 

Friday, December 18, 2020: The Admiral Fell Inn

 

Tuesday, December 15, 2020: Butchers Hill

 

Friday, December 11, 2020: The Little Willie Adams House

 

Tuesday, December 8, 2020: Hansa House

 

Friday, December 4, 2020: Waverly Town Hall

 

Tuesday, December 1, 2020: The Ma & Pa Roundhouse

 

Tuesday, November 24, 2020: The Stieff Silver Building

 

Friday, November 20, 2020: Taylor’s Chapel

 

Tuesday, November 17, 2020: Celebrating Decades of Preservation with David Gleason [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Friday, November 13, 2020: John Street Park 

 

Tuesday, November 10, 2020: Morgan State University Memorial Chapel 

 

Friday, November 6, 2020: The Rawlings Conservatory

 

Friday, October 30, 2020: Beth Am Synagogue [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Tuesday, October 27, 2020: The Star-Spangled Banner Flag House

 

Friday, October 23, 2020: Seton Hill [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Tuesday, October 20, 2020: Mount Royal Terrace [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Friday, October 16, 2020: The A. Hoen & Company Lithographic Campus [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Tuesday, October 13, 2020: Ministry of Brewing [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Friday, October 9, 2020: St. Vincent Cemetery

 

Tuesday, October 6, 2020: Leakin Park

 

Friday, October 2, 2020: Orchard Street Church

 

Tuesday, September 29, 2020: The Katyn Memorial

 

Friday, September 25, 2020: Hackerman House, Doors Open Baltimore & Charlie Duff [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Tuesday, September 22, 2020: Little Italy 

 

Thursday, September 17, 2020: The H.L. Mencken House [2020 Preservation Awards!]

 

Tuesday, September 15, 2020: The Baltimore Basilica

 

Friday, September 11, 2020: Wyman Park

 

Friday, September 4, 2020: Baltimore’s Streetcar System

 

Monday, August 31, 2020: The Lyric Opera House

 

 

Friday, August 28, 2020: Fort McHenry

 

Monday, August 24, 2020: The Savings Bank of Baltimore

 

Friday, August 21, 2020: Mondawmin

 

 

Monday, August 17, 2020: The Baltimore Bar Library

 

Friday, August 14, 2020: The Scottish Rite Temple

 

Monday, August 10, 2020: Schuler School of Fine Arts

 

Friday, July 31, 2020: The Billie Holiday House 

 

Wednesday, July 29, 2020: Penn Station

 

Monday, July 27, 2020: The Montebello Water Filtration Plant

 

Friday, July 24, 2020: Launching the Meyerhoff & Artscape in 1982

 

Wednesday, July 22, 2020: From Marsh Market to Port Discovery

 

Monday, July 20, 2020: Druid Hill Park’s Pool No. 2

 

Friday, July 17, 2020: Garrett Park in Brooklyn

 

Wednesday, July 15, 2020: The Shot Tower

 

Monday, July 13, 2020: Tyson Street

 

Friday, July 3, 2020: The Robert Long House

 

Wednesday, July 1, 2020: Fell’s Point in the Revolutionary War

 

Monday, June 29, 2020: Carroll Mansion

 

Friday, June 26, 2020: Franklin Square

 

Wednesday, June 24, 2020: Mount Clare

 

Monday, June 22, 2020: Graffiti Alley

 

Friday, June 19, 2020: The Patterson Park Pagoda

 

Wednesday, June 17, 2020: Dickeyville

 

Monday, June 15, 2020: Lithuanian Hall

 

Friday, June 12, 2020: The Erection and Restoration of JHU’s Maryland Hall [2020 Preservation Award]

 

Wednesday, June 10, 2020: Davidge Hall

 

 

Monday, June 8, 2020: George Peabody & the Making of American Philanthropy

 

Friday, June 5, 2020: Cylburn Mansion

 

 

Wednesday, June 3, 2020: Civil Rights Pioneer Juanita Jackson Mitchell

 

Monday, June 1, 2020: Enoch Pratt Free Library [2020 Preservation Award]

 

Friday, May 29, 2020: The Irish Railroad Workers Museum

 

Thursday, May 28, 2020: Historic Bath Houses & Comfort Stations 

 

Wednesday, May 27, 2020: Legacy Businesses, Pt. 2, National Lumber & A.T. Jones

 

Tuesday, May 26, 2020: Legacy Businesses, Pt. 1, G. Krug & Hilgartner Stone

 

 

Friday, May 22, 2020: A Memorial Day Tribute to Armories

 

Thursday, May 21, 2020: Cast in Iron, Pt. 2, Baltimore Street

 

Wednesday, May 20, 2020: Cast in Iron, Pt. 1, The Sun & Wilkens Buildings

 

Tuesday, May 19, 2020: The Women of Bolton Hill’s Blue Plaque Program

 

 

Monday, May 18, 2020: Bolton Hill’s Blue Plaque Program

 

*Guest video! Friday, May 15, 2020: Lexington Street’s Historic Movie Theaters

 

Friday, May 15, 2020: Two Historic Movie Theaters, The Charles & The Senator

 

Thursday, May 14, 2020: Federal Hill in the Civil War

 

Wednesday, May 13, 2020: Federal Hill, Pt. 1

 

Tuesday, May 12, 2020: Winans’ Water Wheel

 

Monday, May 11, 2020: The Peale Museum

 

Friday, May 8, 2020: Lucretia Fisher’s Fell’s Point & Clifton Park’s Mothers Garden

 

Thursday, May 7, 2020: The Belvedere Hotel

 

Wednesday, May 6, 2020: John Eager Howard’s Mt. Vernon

 

Tuesday, May 5, 2020: The American Brewery Building

 

Monday, May 4, 2020: Thomas O’Neill & the Cathedral of Mary Our Queen

 

Friday, May 1, 2020: Symbols & Statuary on Fayette Street

 

Thursday, April 30, 2020: Looking Up Downtown on Calvert Street

 

Wednesday, April 29, 2020: Art & Architecture on Redwood Street

 

Tuesday, April 28, 2020: Gargoyles & Grotesques Part 2, South and Redwood

 

Monday, April 27, 2020: Gargoyles & Grotesques on Lexington Street

 

Friday, April 24, 2020: The Baltimore Bargain House

 

Thursday, April 23, 2020: The B&O Railroad in Baltimore

 

Wednesday, April 22, 2020: Two Sites at the Old Town Mall

 

Tuesday, April 21, 2020: The McKim Free School and the Old Town Friends’ Meetinghouse

 

Monday, April 20, 2020: Canton

 

Friday, April 17, 2020: The Hebrew Orphan Asylum

 

Thursday, April 16, 2020: Lillie Carroll Jackson

 

Wednesday, April 15, 2020: The Battle Monument

 

Tuesday, April 14, 2020: The Gardener’s Cottage and the Valve House of Clifton Park

 

Monday, April 13, 2020: Clifton Mansion

 

Friday, April 10, 2020: LGBTQ Heritage Part 2, Gertrude Stein and Harry Gladding

 

Thursday, April 9, 2020: LGBTQ Heritage Part 1, Mary Elizabeth Garrett

 

Wednesday, April 8, 2020: Baltimore’s Painted Screens

 

Tuesday, April 7, 2020: Patterson Park and the War of 1812

 

Monday, April 6, 2020: Historic Clubs on Pennsylvania Avenue

 

Friday, April 3, 2020: Off the Beaten Path in Druid Hill Park, Part 2

 

Thursday, April 2, 2020: Off the Beaten Path in Druid Hill Park, Part 1

 

Wednesday, April 1, 2020: Isaac Emerson and the Bromo Seltzer Tower

 

Tuesday, March 31, 2020: The Baltimore Museum of Industry

 

Monday, March 30, 2020: The Mercantile Trust and Deposit Co. Building

 

Friday, March 27, 2020: Union Baptist Church

  

Thursday, March 26, 2020: The Caulkers’ Houses

 

Wednesday, March 25, 2020: Art and Innovation in Station North

 

Tuesday, March 24, 2020: Sellers Mansion

 

Monday, March 23, 2020: The Hendler Creamery Building