Thank you to Christine Muldowney with the Northeast Baltimore History Roundtable for sharing a few fun photographs from this Sunday’s celebration at Immanuel Lutheran Cemetery. Learn more about the Northeast Baltimore History Roundtable or get involved with another historic cemetery by volunteering at St. Vincent’s Cemetery Fall Clean-Up Day.
Join the Immanuel Lutheran Church for a special open house with tours and presentations to honor of the 150th anniversary of the founding of their congregation. Visit the restored Chapel, take a leisurely walk around the well-kept grounds, or explore family history with burial records.
Visitors can join the 45-minute guided tour at 3:30pm or take a self-guided tour of the cemetery anytime from 11:00am to 7:00pm. Pastor Minetree will lead a “Service of Remembrance” at 4:30pm. Visitors can also explore more local history with a self-guided online walking tour from the Lauraville Heritage Project.
In 1874, a tract of land was purchased on Grindon Avenue and dedicated as the Immanuel Lutheran Church Cemetery, serving the mostly German congregation. At that time, the Lauraville area was a sparsely populated community of farming families. The cemetery is the final resting place for well-known Baltimoreans including Johnny Neun, a local Major League baseball player and John J. Thompson, who received the Congressional Medal of Honor for his service during the Civil War. Enjoy the well maintained grounds as Victorian-age angels keep watch over the quiet and peaceful community of past family, friends and neighbors.
The Chapel, built 1882, will be open to the public. The chapel is still used for funerals, the Easter Sunrise service and other events.
Featured photograph of Immanuel Lutheran Cemetery by Monument City, 11 August 2012.
On September 25, the Old Hamilton Library was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Designed by Baltimore architect Theodore W. Pietsch, the historic branch library was built thanks to the organized efforts of the Woman’s Club of Hamilton and the Hamilton Improvement Association along with support from Pittsburgh industrialist Andrew Carnegie.
Baltimore Heritage submitted the nomination to the Maryland Historical Trust in February with support from both the owner and the Hamilton-Lauraville Main Street. We hope this designation and the financial incentives of city, state and federal historic tax credits can help our partners find a new use for this neighborhood landmark and restore it to its long-time role as an asset to northeast Baltimore communities.