The grand Emerson Mansion was built in 1895 by Captain Isaac Edward Emerson at 2500 Eutaw Place. Over the past twenty years, the condition of the building has deteriorated from bad to worse as broken windows have left the interior open to the weather and copper architectural elements have been stolen. This important landmark in the Eutaw Place/Madison Park local historic district deserves new ownership and a plan to reuse and rehabilitate this important building.
2500 Eutaw Place, Baltimore, MD 21217
Despite protection from a local historic district and the availability of financial incentives as a contributing resource within the Reservoir Hill National Register Historic District, the Emerson Mansion is severely threatened with demolition by neglect. This building should be sold to a new owner with the vision and resources to stabilize and redeveloped this important landmark.
The story of the Emerson Mansion began in 1895 when Captain Isaac Emerson commissioned the building as a home for his family. Captain Emerson lived at this location up to 1911 when he and his wife divorced. Emerson remarried just two months later and started work on the Emersonian, a large apartment building built with the intent to block his ex-wife’s view of Druid Lake. The Baltimore Sun later reported on the legend in August 11, 1985 noting that Emerson, “moved into one of the uppermost apartments so he would always be looking down on her.”
The structure has served a wide range of uses in the 100 years since Captain Emerson moved out. Maryland’s Juvenile Services Division had offices in the building, as did The Mercantile Club, a private social club for businessmen. Since 1994, the property has been owned by James Crockett.Read more at Explore Baltimore Heritage
Last Updated: April 8, 2015