Neighbors seek a new use for grand church – 201 Wilson Street
The Strawbridge United Methodist Church has a rich history. First established in 1843 as the Howard Street Station, the church moved to a grand sanctuary on Park Avenue under the leadership of Rev. John F. Goucher in 1881. Unfortunately, over the past several years, the church deferred essential but costly maintenance resulting in a damaged roof and deteriorating interior. The building has been stabilized for now but estimates by the Methodist Church suggest that a substantial rehabilitation is urgently needed. A committee of neighbors from the Mount Royal Improvement Association is currently working to find a permanent solution for the preservation and rehabilitation of the building. To get involved contact the Alison Barkley, Executive Secretary of the Stawbridge Task Force at firstname.lastname@example.org.
[timeline src=”https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AmrN-RUNwN7NdFhuUXVNZ3NhU0pDUFdlR0xmdnRSMGc&output=html” width=”100%” height=”600″ font=”Merriweather-NewsCycle” maptype=”toner” lang=”en” ]