Our second day of remote sensing at Patterson Park continued despite the snow! Thanks to Fieldwork Director Greg Katz for sharing this shot of Dr. Tim Horsley using his high-resolution magnetometry equipment to search for the traces of the 1814 earthworks. Learn more about our We Dig Hampstead Hill project.
[Photo] Washington Monument’s “Basement”
Thanks to G. Krug and Son Ironworks for sharing this neat shot from the ongoing restoration of the Washington Monument. Tons of brick and marble make up this 178-foot tall icon—all supported by the stone and brick arches down in the “basement.”
Photo: St. Vincent De Paul Church
Photo: Dining room at Emory Grove
Photo: Peale Museum before 1931
On August 14, 1814, almost exactly one month before the Battle of Baltimore and the bombing of Ft. McHenry in the War of 1812, Rembrandt Peale opened “Peale’s Baltimore Museum and Gallery of Paintings” on Holliday Street in downtown Baltimore. Learn more on Explore Baltimore Heritage.