Click here for more information on the Baltimore By Foot tour program.
Baltimore by Foot Spring 2009
Hollins Market and the University of Maryland Biopark, April 18, 10 a.m. to noon
The Old and the New
What do the 1830’s B&O Railroad and the 2009 University of Maryland Biopark have in common? In addition to being located in historic Hollins Market, home of the oldest market building in the city dating to 1838, they both are or were cutting-edge industries and employment magnates attracting new immigrants to Baltimore and the Hollins Market neighborhood. Please join architectural historian Charlie Duff and Biopark leader Jane Shaab as we explore the cutting edge of yesterday and today in the historic Hollins Market neighborhood and Biopark complex.
Cold Spring Newtown – April 25, 10:00 a.m. to noon
Modern, 1970s Style
Conceived and built in the 1970’s as a “community within a park,” Cold Spring Newtown is an unabashedly Modern neighborhood planned around pedestrian paths, public spaces, and even a bird sanctuary. “Deck Houses” showcasing the style of architect Moshe Safdie predominate this three hundred home community perched atop of the Jones Falls Valley, which also includes the historic Ruscombe Mansion. Join Paul Trattner from the Cold Spring Newtown Community Association and Marty Azola, owner of the Ruscombe Mansion, on a tour of this Modern Baltimore neighborhood.
Brewers Hill – May 2, 10 a.m. to noon
The Architecture of Brewing Beer
The Brewers Hill neighborhood centers on the recently rehabilitated Gunther Brewery and National Brewery complexes. The breweries were home to the Gunther, Shaefer, Hamm, and of course Natty Boh labels, and is where the nation’s first “six pack” was invented in the 1940s. The 27 acre brewery site is surrounded by the Brewers Hill neighborhood, which developed between 1915 and 1920 and is replete with rows of brick homes and marble steps. Join David Knipp, project manager for the Brewers Hill complex, on a tour of the brewery site in all of its beer-making glory and current buzz of activity.
Guilford – May 9, 10 a.m. to noon
Fashionable and Just Plain Gorgeous
With Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr. as landscape architect, the Roland Park Company as developer, and a host of the city’s most prominent architects involved, Guilford defined architectural fashion in 1913 when the first lots were sold, and vigorously protects this heritage today. Please join Ms. Ann Giroux, resident and historic house specialist, on a tour of this gorgeous neighborhood that will include three of the community’s most notable properties: the Sherwood Mansion (Georgian Revival), Grace Turnbull House (Spanish Mission Revival), and the “Bird Man of Guilford” house (Classical Revival).
Locust Point – May 16, 10 a.m. to noon
Three Hundred Years of Immigration
First glimpsed by Captain John Smith in 1608, Locust Point became an official point of entry into Maryland in 1708, and by 1900 was one of the important ports of immigration into the United States. From 1868 until it closed in 1914, the Locust Point immigration station was a conduit for European immigrants, especially via the North German Lloyd’s Bremen to Baltimore line, that continue to shape the neighborhood today. Join Oleg Panczenko, long-time resident and neighborhood historian, on a walk through this charming waterfront neighborhood with its mix of Victorian rowhouses and industrial charm.